Saturday, Dec. 2, 2023

NewsSportsArtsOpinionThe QuadPhotoVideoIllustrationsCartoonsGraphicsThe StackPRIMEEnterpriseInteractivesPodcastsBruinwalkClassifieds

2023 USAC elections feature 2 referendums, 40 candidates

Kerckhoff Hall is pictured. Students will vote in the upcoming Undergraduate Students Association Council election for spring 2023. (Daily Bruin file photo)

By Alexandra Kaiser

April 21, 2023 12:06 a.m.

This post was updated May 6 at 10:24 p.m.

Editor’s note: The Equitable Inclusive Access referendum is no longer on the ballot at the time of voting.

Undergraduate students will vote on 40 candidates and two referendums in the upcoming spring 2023 Undergraduate Students Association Council elections.

Voting will open on the MyUCLA website May 5 at noon and close May 12 at 2 p.m. The USA Elections Board will announce the results May 12 at 8 p.m. The Elections Board and the Daily Bruin will co-host candidate debates on May 3 and 4 at 7 p.m. in De Neve Auditorium.

The Referendums

The Universal Access Transit Pass referendum, if passed, would impose a quarterly $3.30 student fee to provide undergraduate students with access to an unlimited-use Los Angeles Metro card for public transportation in LA.

[Related: USAC increases proposed student fee for Universal Access Transit Pass referendum]

The Equitable Inclusive Access referendum will operate as a petition, asking the university to change the Inclusive Access system for class materials such as online textbooks to an opt-in system. The current opt-out system creates issues of equity and transparency, according to the referendum text.

In order for a referendum to pass, 20% of undergraduate students must vote in the election, and 50% of voters must approve the referendum. The spring 2022 USAC election saw a 15% undergraduate student turnout.

The Candidates

Candidates submitted optional profiles to the Elections Board, which were then posted on the website Tuesday.

Six candidates are supported by the United Bruin Movement slate, the only slate in this year’s elections.

President (5)

  • Bryce Busch (independent)
  • Carl King Jr. (incumbent; independent)
  • Poom Yoodee (independent)
  • Nate Magari (independent)
  • Naomi Hammonds (independent)

Internal vice president (4)

  • Kian Kohanteb (independent)
  • Josh Garland (independent)
  • Jeffry Umaña Muñoz (independent)
  • Megan Law (independent)

External vice president (2)

  • Eva Jussim (independent)
  • Hiyab Misghina (independent)

General representatives (11)

  • Joe Lin (independent)
  • Banan M. Garada (independent)
  • Tajvir Singh (independent)
  • Jean Pierre Etcheverry (independent)
  • Katie Pool (independent)
  • Gabrielle Lasry (independent)
  • Lucas Levy (independent)
  • Jonathan Valenzuela Mejia (independent)
  • Ethan Ferrara (United Bruin Movement)
  • Samuel Motzkin (independent)
  • Christopher Espino (independent)

Academic Affairs commissioner (2)

  • Sujana Sridhar (independent)
  • Natalie Askhar (United Bruin Movement)

Campus Events commissioner (2)

  • Mason Miller (independent)
  • Abdo Hussein (United Bruin Movement)

Community Service commissioner (2)

  • Chia Ying Wong (independent)
  • Kobe Dar (independent)

Cultural Affairs commissioner (1)

  • Alicia Verdugo (incumbent; independent)

Facilities commissioner (3)

  • Evan Curran (independent)
  • Hamza Milbes (independent)
  • Christopher Korban (United Bruin Movement)

Financial Supports commissioner (2)

  • Sara Broukhim (incumbent; independent)
  • Alex Marthan (United Bruin Movement)

Student Wellness commissioner (2)

  • Jennis Kang (independent)
  • Anna Ramazyan (independent)

Transfer student representative (3)

  • Thyra Anastashia Cobbs (incumbent; independent)
  • Samy Kohateb (independent)
  • Oseas Garcia (independent)

International student representative (1)

  • Adam Tfayli (United Bruin Movement)
Share this story:FacebookTwitterRedditEmail
Alexandra Kaiser | Campus politics editor
Kaiser is the 2022-2023 campus politics editor. She was previously a News reporter and Opinion columnist. She is also a third-year communication and political science student.
Kaiser is the 2022-2023 campus politics editor. She was previously a News reporter and Opinion columnist. She is also a third-year communication and political science student.
Featured Classifieds
More classifieds »
Related Posts