Saturday, May 25

Daily Bruin wins state awards at California College Media Association banquet

The Daily Bruin won second place in General Newspaper Excellence and General Website Excellence, and first place for Best Overall Design in the 2011-2012 California College Media Association Excellence in Student Media awards on Saturday.

The Bruin won 23 awards for newspapers, news websites and magazines.

UCLA student media adviser Amy Emmert also won the Educator of the Year award from the California Journalism Education Coalition. Emmert has been the adviser at UCLA for nine years and co-founded CCMA in 2003.

“Heart of the Problem,” an investigation funded by the Bridget O’Brien Scholarship Foundation, won first place for Best News Series and third place for Best Audio Slideshow.

The Daily Californian, UC Berkeley’s independent student newspaper, won first place for General Newspaper Excellence and General Website Excellence.

Below is a complete list of the Bruin’s awards:

First place:
Overall design
Best news series (for Sean Greene and Morgan Glier’s Heart of the Problem)
Best editorial (for the editorial board’s Birdie should be removed)
Best video (for Rei Estrada and James Barragan’s Former gang members describe their paths to change)
Best podcast (for Armen Madikians’ Former UCLA basketball player Brad Wright rediscovers his love for the game after health scare)
Best photo illustration (for Isaac Arjonilla’s Battle for Pride)
Best sports column (for Ryan Eshoff’s Honor blessings with humility)

Second place:
General newspaper excellence
General website excellence
Best back-to-school or orientation issue
Best feature story (for Devin Kelly’s Back from Libya)
Best arts & entertainment story (for Lenika Cruz’s Washing away the silence)
Best arts & entertainment column (for Madeleine Clare Flynn Movie Review: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2)
Best sports photography (Blaine Ohigashi)
Best headline portfolio (Angelica Lai)
Best cartoon (Thomas Gintjee)
Best infographic (Amy Sherrard)

Third place:
Best blog (Off the Press, now named Timestamp)
Best magazine website (Prime)
Best magazine story (for Jacob Ruffman’s Football and Fatherhood)
Best multimedia presentation (Heart of the Problem)
Best audio slideshow (for Morgan Glier’s Bridget O’Brien scholarship slideshow)
Best sports photography (Isaac Arjonilla)

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someoneShare on Google+Share on Reddit

Comments are supposed to create a forum for thoughtful, respectful community discussion. Please be nice. View our full comments policy here.