Wednesday, June 26

List of candidates released for Westwood Neighborhood Council election

This year’s Westwood Neighborhood Council election will feature 24 candidates, including 14 council members up for re-election, according to the list of candidates released Thursday.

Westwood residents, business owners and UCLA students can vote in the election, which takes place every two years in June. The Westwood Neighborhood Council, created in 2010, acts as an advisory board to the Los Angeles City Council for issues pertaining to Westwood. It receives an annual budget of almost $40,000.

Fourteen council members are running for re-election, and 11 seats are uncontested. In 2014, 33 candidates ran, and five seats were uncontested.

Jerry Brown, current president of the neighborhood council, said he decided not to run for re-election because he has served on the council for six years, but still plans to attend council meetings and activities.

Angus Beverly, graduate student at the UCLA School of Law who currently serves as student director, and Eva Moc, a fourth-year physiological science student, are running for the student director seat. Moc said she is unsure whether she qualifies for the position because she plans to take a gap year beginning fall quarter.

Trent Jolly, a second-year economics student, and Ian Cocroft, who currently holds a resident seat, are running for resident positions. Cocroft also serves as the undergraduate student government facilities commissioner.

Reuben Ayala, regional director of development for UCLA, and Lisa Chapman, director of coordinated outpatient services at UCLA, are both running for the council’s staff or faculty seat. Chapman, vice president of the council, currently serves as the council’s faculty representative.

Voting will take place June 5 from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. at the Westwood Recreation Center on Sepulveda Boulevard south of Wilshire Boulevard.

A complete roster of candidates is listed below.

At large directors (2 seats available)

Laura Winikow

Naghmeh Makhani

Chantelle Eastman

Alexander Gura

Owner residential group directors (4 seats available)

Scott Whittle

Constance Boukidis

Sandy Brown

Stephen Resnick

Rental residential group directors (4 seats available)

Ian Cocroft

David Lorango

Eugene Tseng

Trent Jolly

Ken Cluskey

Business group directors (4 seats available)

Marcello Robinson

Mark Rogo

Roozbeh Farahanipour

Philip Gabriel

Student director

Angus Beverly

Eva Moc

Faculty or staff director

Lisa Chapman

Reuben Ayala

Educational community director

Caroline Conway

Nonprofit/arts/culture/recreational community director

Ann Hayman

Faith-based community director

Mitchell Keiter


Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someoneShare on Google+Share on Reddit
News contributor

Sarah Sollesa is currently a news contributor covering Westwood, transportation and Los Angeles.

Comments are supposed to create a forum for thoughtful, respectful community discussion. Please be nice. View our full comments policy here.