Redshirt junior quarterback Brett Hundley was named to the 2014 Davey O’Brien Award watch list Wednesday.

Thirty-nine quarterbacks were selected to the list, which recognizes the nation’s top quarterbacks. Of those players, Hundley is one of five returning semifinalists from last year.

This season, Hundley looks poised to make a serious run at the award heading into his third year as the Bruins’ starter under center. He’ll likely face competition from last year’s winner, Florida State redshirt sophomore Jameis Winston, and one of the nation’s other consensus top quarterbacks, Oregon redshirt junior Marcus Mariota.

The only UCLA quarterback to ever win the Davey O’Brien award was Troy Aikman in 1988.

Along with Hundley and Mariota, six other Pac-12 quarterbacks made the watch list: Arizona State redshirt senior Taylor Kelly, California sophomore Jared Goff, Oregon State senior Sean Mannion, Stanford redshirt junior Kevin Hogan, USC redshirt junior Cody Kessler and Washington State redshirt senior Connor Halliday

The Pac-12 had more quarterbacks – eight – named to the watch list than any other conference. The Big Ten, Big 12 and SEC all tied for second with five each.

On Monday, Nov. 3, 16 semifinalists for the award will be chosen, and three weeks later, the field will be narrowed down to three finalists. The winner will be announced on Thursday, Dec. 11.

Compiled by Chris Kalra, Bruin Sports senior staff.